About Me

GLAAD To Honor Ryan Murphy

By Charlotte Robinson, January 17, 2020
GLAAD the LGBTQ media advocacy organization announced that award-winning screenwriter, producer & director Ryan Murphy will be honored at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards that take place in New York at the Hilton Midtown on Thursday March 19th. Murphy will receive the Vito Russo Award presented to an openly LGBTQ media professional who has made a significant difference in accelerating LGBTQ acceptance. The Award is named after Vito Russo a founder of GLAAD & celebrated ACT UP activist who was instrumental for news & entertainment industries to include LGBTQ performers & stories. I knew Vito & he would be very pleased with Murphy being acknowledged for his stellar bulk of work. Sarah Kate Ellis GLAAD President & CEO stated, “Ryan Murphy is a talented trailblazer behind some of the most innovative & popular LGBTQ projects in television, theater & film history & he continues to bring underrepresented LGBTQ voices to the table in ways that raise the bar in Hollywood. Ryan’s unique & gifted brand of storytelling has not only entertained the masses, but provided LGBTQ youth with characters who inspire them to live boldly & proudly.” Previous Vito Russo honorees include Billy Porter, Anderson Cooper, Ricky Martin, Cynthia Nixon, RuPaul, Rosie O’Donnell, Tom Ford, Samira Wiley, Thomas Roberts, George Takei, Alan Cumming, Craig Zadan & Neil Meron, among others. GLAAD previously announced that Taylor Swift will receive the Vanguard Award & Janet Mock will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on Thursday, April 16th.
For More Info & Tix: glaad.org
LISTEN: Monica Roberts Talks Dallas Creating Change Conference
Hear Audio Chats w/ LGBTQ Leaders @OUTTAKE VOICES™

No comments:

Featured Post

Women In Comics Collective Pridefest

Women in Comics Collective International’s Creative Conference: Pridefest is happening on Saturday June 29th at Flushing Town Hall, New York...

Popular Posts