About Me

Gay Marriage Legal In 32 States

By Charlotte Robinson, October 26, 2014
Finally the federal government announced it will recognize gay & lesbian marriages in 6 more states since the Supreme Court recently declined to hear marriage equality appeals in those states. The additional states are Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia & Wyoming. The decision means gay & lesbian couples in these states will finally be able to receive 1,138 federal rights of marriage including social security benefits for & the ability to file a joint income tax return. Attorney General Eric Holder stated, "With each new state where gay & lesbian marriages are legally recognized, our nation moves closer to achieving full equality for all Americans. We are acting as quickly as possible with agencies throughout the government to ensure that same-gender marriage couples in these states receive the fullest array of benefits allowable under federal law." With this decision, the federal government will now recognize gay & lesbian marriages in 32 states & the District of Columbia. Marriage equality is scheduled to come to Indiana & Wisconsin in June. However the status of those unions is unclear, despite federal district court rulings that Indiana & Wisconsin's bans on gay marriage were unconstitutional. Holder's statement clarifies that the federal government sees those marriages as valid. So once that happens we’re talking about 34 states where gay & lesbian marriages are legal. Listen to this exclusive interview about my recent marriage that took place last month:

Hear Audio Interviews w/ LGBT Leaders @OUTTAKE VOICES™

No comments:

Featured Post

Kansas Governor Vetoes Trans Ban Bill

Kansas Governor Laura Kelly vetoed SB 233 that bans crucial medically necessary health care for transgender youth. This is the latest anti-L...

Popular Posts