About Me

LGBTQ Literary Annual Award Winners

By Charlotte Robinson, June 02, 2021

Lambda Literary the nation's premier LGBTQ literary organization announced the winners of the 33rd Annual Lambda Literary Awards (a.k.a. the “Lammys”) at a live Zoom ceremony hosted by Rakesh Satyal who won a Lambda Literary Award for his debut novel “Blue Boy”. Sue Landers, Executive Director of Lambda Literary stated, “While we couldn’t be together in person again this year, we are so excited to be back honoring LGBTQ literature & all of the wonderful writers who make up our community. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners.” Representing the diversity of the LGBTQ experience this year’s Lammy winners once again highlighted Lambda Literary’s reputation for recognizing queer literature in all of its many forms & many winners acknowledged that diversity in their speeches. In accepting the Lammy for Transgender Nonfiction for The Black Trans Prayer Book, J Mase III & Dane Figueroa Edidi stated, “We hope that this work is a tool that helps to celebrate & heal our community.” Mohsin Zaidi, whose A Dutiful Boy: A Memoir of a Gay Muslim's Journey to Acceptance won the Lammy for Gay Memoir/Biography noted that he had been told there wouldn’t be much interest for his book in the U.S. but continued stating, “Stories don’t have a nationality & I think that’s even more true of our stories, of stories from the queer community.” Mike Curato, winner of the LGBTQ Young Adult Lammy for Flamer claimed his award concluding “All the sissies, all the queers, all the Pinoy boys who feel unseen, I see you & for anyone who has dwelt in darkness, there is light inside you even if you can’t see it.”  33rd Lammys Winners List…

Hear Audio Chats w/ LGBTQ Leaders @OUTTAKE VOICES™

No comments:

Featured Post

Women In Comics Collective Pridefest

Women in Comics Collective International’s Creative Conference: Pridefest is happening on Saturday June 29th at Flushing Town Hall, New York...

Popular Posts