About Me

Lambda Literary Award Winners

By Charlotte Robinson, June 07, 2016
The winners of the 28th LGBT Annual Lambda Literary Awards (the "Lammys") were announced last night in a gala ceremony hosted by comedienne Kate Clinton at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. The Lambda ceremony brought together over 500 attendees, sponsors & celebrities to celebrate excellence in LGBT literature & 28 years of the groundbreaking literary awards. As master of ceremonies, Clinton once again took the stage, stating, "Welcome to the Skirball Center, our new home! Thank you careful & constant readers. It's like Words With Friends in real life. Reading takes me away." Broadway star & Style Rookie editor Tavi Gevinson introduced Hilton Als, New Yorker writer & author of the award winning, “White Girls”, who received the Trustee Award for Excellence in Literature. Native poet Natalie Diaz introduced the celebrated poet Eileen Myles, who received Lambda's Pioneer Award. Tony Valenzuela, Lambda Literary Executive Director stated, "Throughout tonight's ceremony we were reminded of the impact that LGBT literature has on people's lives. Congratulations to all the winners and honorees." Some of the presenters who graced the stage included Richard Blanco, Kate Bornstein, Natalie Diaz, Tim Federle, Tavi Gevinson, Silas Howard, Paul Rudnick, Ira Sachs, Rakesh Satyal & Pamela Sneed. The celebration continued at Le Poisson Rouge at the Official After-Party with celebrity DJs Sammy Jo & Tikka Masala, VJ Bleue Liverpool & an electrifying performance by Macy Rodman.
For Winner List…
LISTEN: LPAC Talks Comedy Event “Levity & Justice for All”
Hear Audio Interviews w/ LGBT Leaders @OUTTAKE VOICES™


No comments:

Featured Post

Fusion NYC Pride Event Supporting AVP

With Pride Month in full swing NYC is ground zero with numerous events happening around the Big Apple especially during the Stonewall Annive...

Popular Posts