About Me

Provincetown Film Festival '22 Winners

By Charlotte Robinson, June 20, 2022

The Provincetown International Film Festival (PIFF) announced the winners of this year’s Warner Bros. Discovery Audience Awards, the John Schlesinger Awards & Short Film Prizes. The audience awards are voted on by in-person festival attendees. The Warner Bros. Discovery Audience Award / Best Narrative Feature went to “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande” starring Emma Thompson & Daryl McCormack that was directed by Sophie Hyde. The Warner Bros. Discovery Audience Award / Best Documentary Feature went to “Esther Newton Made Me Gay” directed by Jean Carlomusto. We had the pleasure of interviewing Esther Newton & Jean Carlomusto to talk about their fabulous documentary for OUTTAKE VOICES that will be broadcasted at a later date. Additionally the festival announced its status as an Academy Award-qualifying festival. This year & moving forward short films that receive Best Narrative Short, Best Queer Short & Best Documentary Short awards will now be automatically eligible to enter the Short Films competition for the concurrent season of the Oscars. The John Schlesinger Awards were also announced. These are juried awards presented to a first-time narrative & documentary feature filmmaker with a cash prize of $1,000 to each filmmaker. The John Schlesinger Narrative Award went to Max Walker-Silverman for “A Love Song”. The John Schlesinger Documentary Award went to Alex Pritz for “The Territory”. The Provincetown Film Society (PFS) that facilitates the Provincetown International Film Festival is an advocate for diverse representation in film, providing year-round programming & platforms that allow voices of all kinds to be heard via film. 

No comments:

Featured Post

New Title IX LGBTQ Protections & More

The U.S. Department of Education has published its final regulatory updates that clarify Title IX protections for LGBTQ students, student su...

Popular Posts