About Me

Gay Marriage Adds 2 More States

By Charlotte Robinson, August 01, 2013
In the states of Rhode Island & Minnesota marriage equality becomes legal today August 1st for gay & lesbian couples. With the implementation of Rhode Island’s new law New England becomes a gay marriage zone in all six states with special thanks to GLAD, (Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders) the architects of gay marriage in the USA. Lee Swislow, Executive Director of GLAD stated, “Congratulations to all of the loving, committed Rhode Island couples who can now marry & enjoy the dignity & security of having their marriage recognized at home & by the federal government. We are joyful & proud that each of the six New England states recognizes the freedom to marry for gay & lesbian couples.” On November 18, 2008, the fifth anniversary of the historic decision in Goodridge v. Department of Public Health, the GLAD lawsuit that made Massachusetts the first state where gay couples could legally marry, GLAD launched their 6x12 Campaign to achieve marriage equality for all the 6 New England states by 2012. Swislow added, “We missed our goal of 6x12 by only four & a half months. I’d call that a major victory. And the spotlight that marriage equality has shone on our community will enable us to keep the ball rolling & address a myriad of other issues we face. We’ll keep moving forward.” Congrats to all the gay & lesbian couples who will marry today in Rhode Island & Minnesota!! Updates to Come…:)
Listen: Gay Entrepreneurs Create New Crowdfunding Site
Hear Audio Interviews w/ LGBT Leaders @OUTTAKE VOICES™

No comments:

Featured Post

LGBTQ Youth Inclusive Learning Update

GLSEN the fabulous org that creates safe & inclusive K-12 schools & learning environments for our LGBTQ youth has released its “Incl...

Popular Posts